Heart on Hiatus

ice heart by HappyTea

I’m not a nice person

Nor do I pretend to be…

Yes, I hardly show emotion

You think I should smile

But I can’t and I won’t

Because I’m just going through the motions of trying to be human

I’m not a nice person

I never tried to be

Sometimes my heart is made of ice

Mostly it’s on hiatus

Along with my conscience

The pair would never win ‘employee of the month’

I’m not a nice person

Even though you try your hardest to change me, to make me

It will take a while to thaw out my sub-zero heart

But like everyone I just want to be loved

I know that’s like trying to look at your reflection in a cracked mirror:

The outcome will always be twisted and distorted

An imitation of reality

All I know is pain

Laced with vengeance & hate

My heart is redundant

What I know are facts and figures

So don’t you wonder

Why I’m not nice

ice heart by HappyTea

Leave a Reply

